Artist project, words.

For the artist project I have asked each of the subjects to provide 50 words that describe their work.

Now all four have submitted their words:

Julie:

Julie

Julie

Each piece consists of alternating multi-tiered layers of acrylic and oil paint, applied with a variety of implements, to aid application of paint during mark making. Drawing from nature, I try to relive the experience of being outside. Light, spatiality and the process of painting are key to each piece.

Sue:

Sua standing aside

Sua standing aside

I do believe creativity is in us all, but for me it’s a need. It keeps me sane and full of joy, and I can’t ignore it. Sometimes it seems like there are lots of images in my mind, all jostling to get to the front and be made manifest.

Dirk:

Dirk

Dirk

My art has been the single most pleasurable, rewarding new factor in my life over the past 7 years. It enthuses me in a way that no other interest, or work role has done. The irony is that  I have always been reticent to ‘sell’ myself in work settings, preferring the quality of my work to speak for itself. Yet, I have chosen (potentially, in time) a second career that requires even more self-promotion in an over-crowded art market place. Bring it on. I want my painting to define me, in a way that I have not allowed anything else to fully do before. I am comfortable calling myself an artist.

 

I have loved nature ever since I was a small child, and particularly love the autumn countryside – the colours, shapes and forms of the fruits and berries.  Even now I cannot resist the temptation to pick up conkers, acorns, fir cones, etc, just for the pleasure of their shapes, textures and symmetry.  I love living and walking in the countryside, and get immense pleasure from attempting to recreate in watercolours the beauty I see around me.

2 thoughts on “Artist project, words.

    • That’s interesting as for this post I deliberately chose the images that had the artists less ‘connected’ to their work. When I submit it will have the images that have them more closely associated, either by focus or by physical position

Leave a Reply

